The General Assembly


The General Assembly is the decision-making body of spiritsEUROPE and meets at least 3 times a year. It sets the direction of the organisation, agrees the budget and approves the organisation's strategic plan for the forthcoming year. It consists of all members of the organization, each represented by a permanent delegate.



The Board


The Board fills the gap between General Assemblies, ensuring urgent decisions are not delayed unnecessarily. It comprises the President, the Treasurer and 3 representatives of national trade associations and 3 representatives from the multinational companies.



The President


Joep Stassen is spiritsEUROPE’s President since 14 November 2013.  He has worked as a lawyer and for a listed company as corporate secretary and in house lawyer.  He has worked for the Dutch spirits trade association for over 13 years.  Up until 2012, Joep worked for a semi public commodity board for spirits and since then solely for the Dutch association for spirits importers and producers, SpiritsNL.


Joep succeeds Gavin Hewitt.  Gavin was the CEO of the Scotch Whisky Association for 10 years between 2003 and 2013 and the President of spiritsEUROPE between 2011 and 2013.